Complete newb question - how to attach a logo onto a cylinder?

Hi everyone,
Incredibly new to computer modelling – just started with rhinoceros and fell in love with it.

I’m trying to create a really thin land rover circular badge to paste onto my car key (not a sticker)

I’m using this image as reference, downloaded from http://www.brandsoftheworld.com/logo/land-rover-7

They also provide the .ai file of the logo.

The circle has a height of 0.005 inches and a radius of 0.281 inches.
Trying to ‘print’ the logo on (and slightly extruded above) the circle.

Could you folks please advise me on how should I go about? I’m totally clueless.

Thanks for taking the trouble!

I think understand what you’re after but post a model or other reference images if not. It sounds like you want to make a physical emboss of the logo on the flat top of a capped cylinder. Maybe this is for a 3D print. If that’s right, I’d suggest using the PictureFrame command to import the reference image you have now and scale it using the Scale command or the Gumball until it’s the right size. Then lock it and use the Curve command to trace the lines of the letters making sure to use end Osnaps as you go so that you end up with closed curves for each shape or two closed curves as in the case of the D etc. Then use the command ExtrudeCrv with the Solid option enabled to make the physical letters at the height desired. Move them into position and BooleanUnion with the cylinder after that.

You could also try to use the ai file but my experience has been they tend to be open paths not suited to making closed 3D models. You can clean up the curves or redraw them as I’ve suggested… I think the latter is usually faster.

1 Like

Thanks BrianJ! That’s exactly what I intended to do.

I tried to import the .ai file and it turned out like this

Are the missing parts open paths as you meant?
Sorry for asking but I have totally no experience with 2D design.