Building Grasshopper Components Using OS X Only?

Hi Guys! I’m totally new to this, but I was wondering whether there’s a way to build your own grasshopper components using Grasshopper for Mac or using mac apps {like Visual Code or Atom Editor} . . . ?

Sorry for my ignorance !
I’m really confused so I’m just trying to map things out . . .
Thnx. in advance !

Yes indeed. Take a look here for some guides to getting started…
http://developer.rhino3d.com/wip/guides/#grasshopper

but I should note that not all the guides are finished. This is a work-in-progress right now. For the Installing Tools guide, see the RhinoCommon version…it will work for Grasshopper on Mac component development.

1 Like

Thank you so much !

Hi @dan ! I’m sorry to bother you, but sometimes it’s down to that last step . . .
I followed the sites and everything fine except that GH template’s missing !

Is it because of the Xamarin v 5.9.2 (build 0) that I’m using or some other installation file that I’m missing … because I tried the latest Xamarin version and the RhinoCommon Plug-In wasn’t even there . . . !

Please try this with the Xamarin Studio 6.1 and let me know if you have problems there. I’m not seeing this issue in the latest builds. Looks like Xamarin Studio 6.1.1 has broken the Gallery plugins again…looking into it.

Yeah, I guess I must have upgraded it to 6.1.1 without checking Add-in Manager . . .
Now that I installed Xamarin Studio 6.1.0, ‘Grasshopper Component’ is there. I also upgraded Xamarin to 6.1.1 and still it’s seems to be working fine . . .

Thank you, again !

Unfortunately, this is not the first time this has happened…

and it is likely that Xamarin will have to release another patch fix (as they did last time). Stay tuned. I’m glad you got up and running in 6.1 though.

Best,
-Dan