Boolean split fails? (Attempting to create a mold)

I am new to Rhino and CAM and am attempting to create a mold. I have used Rhino with Tsplines to model a positive object that I wish to create from the mold. (The object is an aerodynamic “power pod” for a powered glider, essentially a nacelle on an airfoil-shaped post). I now need to model the “mold” or negative around the object. The mold will be used to mold the actual object in carbon fiber.

I have done the first step successfully – I modeled a box around the object, then did a Boolean Difference, which produced a valid polysurface – basically the mold which needs to be cut into halves.

However, I have created a cutplane (two split the mold into left and right mirror image halves), and when I attempt to do a Boolean Split between the box and the cutplane, the split fails.

As far as I can tell, the intersection is valid. What do I need to do?

Thanks!
Rickpower pod mold - narrow version cutplane.3dm (444.0 KB)

You can try the Split command instead of boolean in this case.
Select the item you want to split. In this case the mold,
type run split command then the object to split with then finish.

hmm… sorry the split didn’t work well…

The Split command works but does not produce the correct results. For some reason it leaves a thin shell of material around the original positive, but the rest of what should be solid material is not – the rest of the box becomes totally hollowed out. It’s weird, and does not give the results I need. Thanks.

The naked edge inside your model is causing the problems.

Someones else might be able to show you how to fix this but to get it to split and prove it was the problem I just sliced off a tiny piece of the end to remove the point and capped. It split fine then.

Probably quicker to fix the topology of your T-splines model than trying to fix this in Rhino.

sorry about that.
I also noticed the naked edge after checking…