Black Friday deals on Rhino 8 upgrade licenses?

Are there any good black Friday deals available on Rhino 8 upgrade licenses anywhere? The current promo price is not very attractive to me considering that I’m just a hobbyist user of Rhino 6 and my local currency is not worth the paper it’s printed on, so paying for software priced in Euros and US dollars is ridiculously expensive.

You might find an individual reseller that is making some special offer that will come out of their own pocket, but there is no official BF offer from McNeel - nor will there likely be, it’s not McNeel’s policy to offer such “sales”. There is only the official promotional price for the upgrade, available until 28 February.

Black Friday deals can be pretty illusory. Anything branded and current model that I have looked at this year, the “deals” are similar to what’s been available at intervals throughout the year. Headline price drops come on last year’s models.

2 Likes

We all like a good deal, but if we want an economy where we can afford things without deceptive bargains then Friday should be a day of resistance, not consumption. Just a thought - it’s the easiest protest you could ever do to violate the sanctity of the commodified spectacle.

4 Likes

@Helvetosaur Thanks for the thorough reply.

@Artstep & @jeremy5 Thanks. I’m not interested in buying junk, just Rhino 3D should there be a good deal on it somewhere. I bought my last upgrade license at a good price, so I’m asking if anyone might have seen a good deal somewhere. That’s all.

Just to clarify, it’s not “Buy no junk” - it’s “Buy nothing

2 Likes

@Artstep No, I will spend my money on what I want and when I want.

If you want to protest the ecomomic downturn then get the names and addresses of the bankers, politicians and their voters and take it up with them, but don’t tell me what to do.

1 Like