Best online resources for a total beginner

Hi,

I am a hobbyist and currently planning to buy a Rhino Mac license at the end of my trial. I have been using Fusion360 to model more functional stuff for 3d printing as well as modelling simple things to use in iOS AR stuff I experiment with.

Long story short, I like Fusion 360 but I do not want to pay for a subscription and would rather own a license and pay for updates. Having interests in small sailboat design as well, I am also naturally drawn to Rhino, which seems to be the standard CAD used in this domain. Lastly, while Fusion is great for functional parts, I feel limited when trying to be more artistic (which I am really bad at anyway!).

Anyway, I installed the trial and have been following a few of the Getting Started videos. While I am able to follow and arrive at something, I still don’t “get it”. I don’t know if it is because of the different paradigm, but there seems to be much more technical, “mathematic-ish” terms and stuff that I do not understand in Rhino.

In Fusion, I know I simply start with a sketch, apply constraints, extrude, modify the solid, create new construction planes, rinse and repeat. In Rhino, I am not sure what the “flow” is supposed to be like exactly and I often end up stuck and completely flabbergasted as to what I am supposed to do next. For example, I was simply trying to model a dumb thing yesterday to figure out the software and at some point, I applied filets to all the edges. But I ended up with weird stuff poking out through everywhere that I had to clean up with the Trim command. Maybe it is expected, maybe not, my problem is I just don’t know.