Beehive voronoi

Hi I’m trying to model this object I’ve sketched out for my university class. I currently already have the base structure as a closed mesh, and need to model the yellow part. The yellow parts should look like the beehives in the pictures I uploaded. I reaslised that its kind of like a voronoi on voronoi, and I have never used grasshopper before, so I’m a bit lost on how to create the structure… I was hopping someone here would be able to give me advice or point me in the right direction, thank you!

42f64dba33f97758cc84ee5a21e6cabb

1 Like

Welcome @Natalie,

Hm, depending on what you want to do here, this might be quite an involved task.

Yes, do you imagine the yellow part as more of a surface (or facade) that drapes like a piece of cloth over the base shape, or rather like a three-dimensional amorphous volume?

Also what about the larger and smaller openings/holes/cavities? How do you define their distribution, depth, radius, etc.?

Aren’t honeycomb cells circular and - when packed tightly inside the hive - take an hexagonal form due to surface tension and temperature of the wax? I also think that they aren’t really cells on top of cells on top of cells. If you look closely at your reference pictures, it seems like bees build a porous shell, not a 3D Vornoi.

Overall, I’d start with the base shape of the yellow part.

If it’s tissue-like, you could model a simple base mesh, then relax and collide it with your base shape for instance with Kangaroo. The relaxed base mesh could then be turned from quad to hexagonal cells, or even Vornoi, and maybe extruded to get the cavities and some thickness.