Assembling / form-finding with different units of equilateral triangles

Hi, I’m a beginner of Grasshopper and I’m struggling with something for a school project.

I have three different units (as you can see in the figure below).

• The first unit: 5 equilateral triangles around one vertice.
  • The second unit: 6 equilateral triangles around one vertice.
  • The third unit: 7 equilateral triangles around one vertice, which makes kind of a hyperbolic shape.

I scripted them as well, see file. I used Delaunoy for the last two units (I don’t know if there’s another way).
Remark: The equilateral triangles of all the units have the same length.

The goal is to assemble the different units, in a way that it fits well (so there are no gaps between the units). Therefore the shape of the second and the third unit should be able to change while the equilateral triangles remain the same. [The shape of the first unit does not change.]

An example: two units of 5 equilateral triangles adding to an unit of 7 equilateral triangles --> the shape of unit of 7 eq. triangles will change in a way that it can fit well with the other two units.

Concerning “assembling” in Grasshopper, I was only able to do it with the first unit, by using Kangaroo tools such as Coincident connecting different points. [see file]

So can someone help me how I can do it with other units? I’ve been looking for a long time and I would be very very very thankful if someone could help!

The files are here:Test_assembling.3dm (117.2 KB) Test_assembling.gh (29.8 KB)

1 Like

You could use MagnetSnap here (like in this video)
Here’s an example starting from 5,6 and 7 sided pyramids
snapping_example.gh (28.0 KB)

2 Likes

Thank you so much, this is what I was looking for!
One question (again struggling): the shape of the first unit (5 equilateral triangles) should not change, so how do I avoid that? (When I connect it with other units, the triangles still rotate, which I don’t want)