Accessing surface texture UV tiling and offset values

Hi Everybody,

i am trying to automate surface texture mapping and would need access to the UVW tiling,offset and rotation values which are exposed at the bottom of the object properties window/mapping tab.
being able to set a mapping channel number would be very helpful too.

the aim is to set different values for a set of surfaces, and to use “surface” mapping type.

i am pretty new to scripting and the rhinoCommon SDK, but as far as i looked “TextureMapping Members” don’t seem to expose these parameters.
In fact, even in rhino itself i don’t find a way to access the texture mapping properties by command line.

i would be very glad if someone could point out if this can be done.
ideally the script is a c# component of a grasshopper setup, but any way of automated access to these settings would be a great help.

cheers,
Daniel

it has been a while, so i thought i bump it.

the problem remains essentially the same, I am still looking for a scripted way to control texture offset/tiling/rotation values for any texture mapping type (“surface” being the most vital to me)

i see that the command line now gives access to “tiling” upon creation of a mapping but offset is still hidden and accessible via GUI only afaik.

if someone has an idea how offset/rotation values could be randomized I’d be really glad to hear

thanks,
Daniel

Hi Daniel,

The commandline access to offset is there, it just seems to be hidden under the tiling option:

_-Properties _Material _Object "Rhinoceros" _TextureMap _Tiling _OffsetU 0.5