3D model to 2D lasercut for assembly with modelboard / chipboard

Hi there!

I’m rather new to Rhino (quite adept with Maya), and I’m having to revisit a project started by a freelancer last year.

I need to create a reproduction of a 3D model with some lasercut board. We did one iteration and it mostly worked, but had two had some critical design flaws (namely a lack of tabs on the bottom to affix it into holes on the flat ground, and the 2D projection did not account for the tilt of the outside permiter (so pieces had to be manually cut off in order to form the cylinder with the top tilted inwards).

My most critical question is in regards to doing the calculations required to determine the exact 2D cut required to match the 3D model, and the workflow for adding tabs in. It looks like the original artist (who I have been trying to get in touch with) drew a curve with etch and cut properties, placed them inside an instance block, and duplicated it along the Z (vertical) axis, then ran a make2D command on that. I’m not very good at match, but i imagine that the exact angle of the taper towards the roof is directly proportional to the overall length of the 2D cut that goes along the permiter.

Any help at all is greatly appreciated - incl regarding how to attach a picture/screenshot to this? link to imgur for now:

Hello - to attach files including images you can drag and drop or use the upload button

at the top of your message as your typing it.

A Rhino file would help here - with some indication of what you’d like to do - I get it generally but can’t tell where you are now.

-Pascal

oohhhh thanks. i feel silly.

is it okay to attach a .3dm here?

Hello - yes, please attach a 3dm file - in general, if the file is large or complex, Export what you’re asking about to a new file and post that. Any details or directions or clarity you can add by using Dot or object color or layers is welcome.

Keep in mind this is a public forum and anyone can get your file.

-Pascal