Workspace Editor

Hi

I have edited the default workspace in Rhino 5.0 and would like to save it as a a new rui file but when I select the Save As option in the drop down menu all I get is the same menu as when I was editing the menu structure. This is also the same if I select Save As Template, in fact if I select any of those options on that menu I get the same dialogue box.

Am I missing something or is this a bug.

Roger

@pascal or @johnm can you help here? I’m not an expert at the workspace editor.

Simply close the workspace editor (button in the lower right hand corner) and then select File > Save from the Toolbar Layout editor

The File>Save in the workspace editor is there for you to control what is displayed in the File Menu

Am I the only one utterly confused by the Russian dolls Mayhem that is the Workspace management in Rhino ?

@osuire whats confusing you? I’m not sure what part of Rhino 8 development you have followed.

Hi Gijs, in all the Rhino-using offices I have worked in, custom RUIs are a jumbled mess of redundent toolbars and groups, even in places where there are smart folks trying their best to put things straight.
In the Rhino Options / Toolbar interface, there is no visual or UI-based way of sorting groups from toolbars, which should be two clearly defined, separate and identifiable hierarchical levels.

There is a blur between these two concepts, as seen in the dreaded “Workspace editor” since Toolbars also exist as groups.

Now if you want to delete many items, which is often the case since people tend to just make their RUI more tangled with time, well, you’re out of luck. You’re good to do it painstakingly one by one.

Moreover, RUIs can also stack on top of each other, making it yet another hierarchical level.

In theory, it’s great to have flexibility for organizing UI elements, but since the tools to manage them are flawed and obscure, the result is mis-understanding leading to complete chaos.

The current version is 7, right ?