Why am I not creating planar curves/surfaces?

Hello everyone.

I’m pretty new to Rhino and am having trouble creating planar curves/surfaces so I can create UV surfaces, etc.

I happen to be using Gemvision Matrix but I think my problem is a very basic Rhino or Rhino settings problem.

When I create what should be a flat, planar surface, I see that there are red lines and that I cannot select the surface. I can only select either half of what should be a surface.

In my image, you can see what should be a flat surface but I cannot select the whole surface, only each half of it. And you can see small red lines inbetween. I assume this means there are hole are non planar. But I’m building this ring with the Gemvision program. So I must have a settings wrong or something deep inside Rhino?

Could anyone please tell me what I’m doing wrong?

Thanks

Hello - it’s hard to say without the file. I cannot tell what you think should be a flat surface but if it is meant to fill in the hole in the ring - looks like there might be a read circle there - select the circle and run the PlanarSrf command.

-Pascal

OK, thanks. I’ll try that. How do you select? do I just left click or do I need to hold control/shift click the holes?

Thank you.

Hello - click on the red circle if that is what it is, and when you get the menu asking which of the things you want, choose the curve from the list.

FYI https://www.rhino3d.com/download/rhino/5.0/Rhino5Level1Training/

-Pascal

1 Like

Thanks, I’ll check out the training too.

I’m assuming that closing the holes won’t make it all one surface though. So I won’t be able to select it after this as one surface our create UV’s. I could group them I bet. So I still need to find out how to create one surface in the first place.

Thank you for helping me.