VisualARQ for structure

Hi everyone,
I’m a student majoring structure.

I want to make steel structure model including the detail of connection such as gusset plate and bolt.

I guess VA can do it, but I don’t know how to modify VA settings…

Does anyone know how to do it?

Here attached is image of model.

Best,
Shimpei

example

Hi Shimpei, you can create these connectors and plates with Rhino geometry. You can create blocks out of them and assign them to create VisualARQ “Element” styles (vaElementStyles). If you want to create them as parametric objects, you can use a Grasshopper style on the VisualARQ “Element” object.

1 Like

Hi fslla,
Thank you for replying me.

I’ll try the method you suggested.

Best
Shimpei

1 Like

Hi, I will use the example to express my suggestion for further VA development.
Would be nice if we could in VA GH styles reference other objects (including VA objects) existing in the scene. For example - make GH style of “element” that would allow (or even require - ask for picking after insertion) to reference two beams and after that it would create parametric connection adjusted to beams location, type etc.
That would be great for example for creating walls toppings, perimeter beams around slabs and many many more. But for it to work even better, it would be great if VA objects could store some kind of “custom geometrical attributes” - which could work similar as walls storing construction curves, windows storing profiles, slabs storing their region etc, but would be customizable. For example I make my GH styled roof and I want to expose data like the curves where gutters or snow fences should be placed, which could be accessed by referencing the object and extracting custom geometrical attributes. Please, consider that to be a big wish :slight_smile:

Thank you in advance!

1 Like