VB scripting to Robot Structural Analysis Error Line 0

Hi,

I am trying to create a link using API between Grasshopper and Robot Structural Analysis to input loading into a model. However, this error message appears when I try to run the script.

1. Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component. (line: 0)

Does anyone know what can be done to solve this?

Thanks,
Rhona

Do you try to get the COM object from a script or from a compiled component? If you can do it, it will be easier for debugging that you write a full GH component into VS --> you can do a step by step debug (and figure out where the program throws an exception).

Otherwise, can you please share the code?

– Xavier

Hi Xavier,

Thanks for your quick response! This is my first time trying to use VB so I had written the script within the Grasshopper window, I’ll try writing in VS in the future if that is better for debugging.

I have shared the code below.

If Activate = True Then
Update = False

Dim robot As New RobotApplication
  Dim robot_cache As RobotStructureCache
  robot_cache = robot.Project.Structure.CreateCache

Dim comb_num As Long
  comb_num = robot.Project.Structure.Cases.FreeNumber
  Dim LoadRecIMP As RobotLoadRecord
  Dim caseIMP As RobotSimpleCase
  caseIMP = robot.Project.Structure.Cases.CreateSimple(comb_num, "Imposed - Snow & Maintenance", IRobotCaseNature.I_CN_EXPLOATATION, IRobotCaseAnalizeType.I_CAT_STATIC_NONLINEAR_BUCKLING)
  caseIMP.Records.New(IRobotLoadRecordType.I_LRT_NODE_FORCE)
  LoadRecIMP = caseIMP.Records.Get(1)
  LoadRecIMP.SetValue(IRobotUniformRecordValues.I_URV_PX, 0)
  LoadRecIMP.SetValue(IRobotUniformRecordValues.I_URV_PY, 0)
  LoadRecIMP.SetValue(IRobotUniformRecordValues.I_URV_PZ, Imposed)

Dim node_num As int32: node_num = robot.Project.Structure.Nodes.FreeNumber
  Dim node_sel_text As String: node_sel_text = ""
  For i As int32 = 0 To GH_Panels.Count - 1
    robot_cache.AddNode(node_num, GH_Panels(i).X, GH_Panels(i).Y, GH_Panels(i).Z)