Using Rhino with Excel VBA

Hello Everyone,
In the past, I used Excel VBA to do lots of calculations and automated workbooks for certain routine operations.
One of them was to create a 3D model in Microstation ( Bentley CAD Program) using Excel VBA program.

I was thinking about how i can do the same for Rhino.

Does anyone have any experience in this?

Thanks for your time

regards

CK

Hi,
The closest thing to VBA perhaps would be RhinoScript

Alternative languages for scripting in Rhino is Python or C#, which also are supported by lots of Math-libraries out there.

//Rolf

I have some experience connecting Rhino to excel worksheets with Python. It’s not completely clear what your expectations are regarding the exchange between the two.

This thread may be relevant: Connect to Rhino from Excel - #14 by eric.bunn

Hello Gijs,
In Excel VBA, typically i had an interface to define my parameters and i take these parameters and calculate the coordinates of the intended model and create the object using the applicable syntax of the specific program.
i am aiming to do the same for rhino, using excel vba.

i saw someone posted this message here and it said that Rhino script can be used in excel vba.

That s why i was asking this question

let me know

thanks

CK

well, here you got an example node on how to connect rhino with excel via vb node. Please note that screenupdate switched in between. In case your code fails, Excel won’t update the screen any more. You can comment out these lines.

here’s the file:

vba_base.gh (3.4 KB)

EDIT: this uses grasshopper, which is part of rhino, as @davidcockey pointed out correctly. I think using grasshopper allows you to easily get values from (and write to) Excel and make further operations with the values or the created geometry.
It should also be noted that it is not a good idea to connect a toggle to the node without a timer. This usually makes crash xls.

hope that helps