Using Rhino to produce 2d Drawings with hatches, from scratch

Hi. I am Miltos, I am an architect and a big fan of Rhino.
I currently use Rhino for creating 2d architectural drawings from scratch. I was using Autocad LT but for various reasons I decided to stay only with Rhino.
The bulk of my work is mostly for building permits. I want to clarify that I produce 2d drawing from scratch. I do not create 3d models and convert them to 2d. And these drawings need to be submitted at the competent authorities. One of my main difficulties is using a variety of hatches as I was able to do in Autocad.
Recently I tried to import a .pat file but a message appeared that this is an upgrade under process. I tried to trim or scale some hatches that appeared from the .dwg file but I could neither scale them as an object or transform them. Can anyone help me find a solution to create or transform some patterns until the upgrade is completed?
I personally believe that Rhino is a design program with many potentials. With a few features it could replace Autocad for the bulk of the architects. I have some suggestions for these but I will make them in a future post.

It would probably help the folks who could help you if you would be specific about what version of Windows and what version of Rhino you are using. Also the output from Rhino’s SystemInfo command.

I am using Rhino 6 on Windows 10.

OK, but which version of Rhino 6? That is, for example: 6.30.20280. This can be found on the “about” window on the help menu. There are new releases of Rhino 6 every month or two and new release candidates every week. If you are using an older version it’s possible your issue has already been fixed.

Another common issue is the video drivers not being up-to-date.

1 Like

How did you try to import the .pat file? You cannot drag and drop them, you must go to DocumentProperties>Hatch and hit the “Import” button.