Unrolling a curve

I have some curves measuring a length of 36 and 40. I need to know the length of steel I need to purchase so I need to know what the size of these surfaces are prior to curving.yellow moon plates only.3dm (57.9 KB)
I’m really a beginner and the posts i’ve seen so far regarding this seem to talk about scripts of which I know nothing

Lingums, I see Pascal already suggested Lenght and DimCurveLenght. In a prior post you seemed to have trouble with DimCurveLength. You said “with style leader chosen, I pick the start point, then it asks me for the next point.in leader…if I try and pick anywhere along the curve it just jumps off into space somewhere…whats happening?”

Pardon me if I’m being too simple, but as you stated you’re a beginner, maybe you misunderstand how a leader works. A leader is a line with an arrow on one end and annotation or dimension text at the other. Normally one would put the start point near the curve being measured and the next point away from the curve, where you want the text to appear, not “anywhere along the curve”, and then finish the command with a right click or Enter. This differs from other dimension commands where you are asked to pick a start and end point to measure between; the command already knows the length of the curve, it is asking where you want the start, mid and end points of the leader line to be placed.

If you understand all of this and the leader still “jumps off into space somewhere”, then I don’t know what is going on. It works normally when I try it here.

Length = 46.05 centimeters is that what you are looking for?

As per Mark’s point about a simple question, I hope I’m wrong but are you looking to create that in sheet steel? When I read “plates” I presumed it is a sectional detail of a sheet.