Trying to Get Started With Using Grasshopper To Do 3D Printing. Need Help Please

grasshopper
unhandled

(Jliname1) #1

Would like some advice and/or someone to point me in a good direction to start learning and/or using Grasshopper to do slicing for 3d printed parts. Any advice or pointing in a good direction would be very helpful.

Why do you have in mind of using GH for 3d printing? Rhino can do slicing model too.
If you can do modeling in Rhino and the final model is a watertight,solid, then you’ll be ready to 3d print…

(Jliname1) #3

I’m trying to use grasshopper to generate curved layer printing for my 5 axis printer I’m using for my research. The printer is a 4 axis setup that is modified for 5 axis, and will be able to print in arbitrary paths in space. I am hoping to use grasshopper to setup the algorithms to do this and would like some starting points for doing 3D printing within grasshopper because I am new to the Software. I have gone through plenty of basic starter tutorials but now I’m looking for stuff more specific.

Do I understand it correctly if you want to the create machine code in grasshopper which can be used to run a 3D printer?

Check out silkworm https://projectsilkworm.com/ and xylinus http://www.food4rhino.com/app/xylinus-novel-control-3d-printing. I didn’t test these myself so I don’t know how well they work, but it could be an easy way to get you started.

(Jliname1) #6