Too High Displacement!

I had created a relatively simple wooden structure to analyze using karamba. My Goal is to use 0 fixed connections. The problem is that the displacement value seems to be too high. I’ve been shifting all planes and changing all orientations in the model trying to figure our what the problem is, maybe its not related to the element planes, im not sure. It could be something fairly simple that my beginner experience is not aware of, I’m still learning Karamba and GH. Any help would be appreciated

ExampleFile.gh (76.0 KB)

Hi @mahradsa32, you have defined some elements as truss elements and therefore your stucture is kinematic. If you want to control your joints, use the BeamJoints components to define your joint conditions.

Thank you for you reply, I will try using that component and readjusting the definition.

I had another question if possible. Using the joint definition component is different from the support component in the sense that in the support component when the box is filled then that degree of freedom is locked, while in the joint definition when the box is filled it means that this degree of freedom is free or released ?

If that is the case if i am using the joint definition to identify the end connections (joints and D.O.F) then if there is one point that overlaps (like point C) in my example that is attached. Should I release it in both ends of the members (member BC and member DC ?) or releasing it one member is sufficient? releasing in both members means that the end connections are both hinged or does it mess up the calculation?

I am trying to reach a solution where the main connections have some degrees of freedom (hinges ) and the secondary supporting elements are fixed (Like BC’)

ExampleFile.gh (85.9 KB)

Hi @mahradsa32,

Yes you are correct. The nodes in the Beam Joint component releases the degree of freedom for the selected node.