SynchronizeRenderColors: what did I do right?!

The scenario: I am a complete Rhino newbie, fumbling my way to learn how to use the program as part of a workflow - importing a STEP that was converted from an X_T file, intending to do some very broad layer organizing (2-3 at most), and then opening the 3DM file in Cinema4D with Rhino.IO.

All objects/groups/blocks come in with Display Colors. Since Rhino.IO doesn’t do anything with that information (as far as I can tell), I am trying to get the Display Color to be converted and applied as a Material, which Rhino.IO WILL acknowledge.

While researching this situation online I learn about SynchronizeRenderColors, and even though it made a huge amount of redundant materials, this seems like it was going to do the trick!

Fast forward to 3 weeks later, and I cannot get SynchronizeRenderColors to behave like this anymore. Rather than using the Display Color to create and apply a Material to the object (like it did 3 weeks ago), now it is applying the Material to the LAYER the object is on. Unfortunately, since the STEP files are importing with everything on one layer this is not going to work for me. I’ve found this may be a bug that is already being tracked, but that doesn’t explain why it worked 3 weeks ago (I don’t recall updating Rhino 7 during that time, but given the age of that bug tracker, I doubt updating was responsible)

Side note: I’ve been able to install and use ExplodeBlocksToLayers.rhp with good effect, but not all of my STEP files have come in with blocks, so I would need a way to separate objects to layers as well, but I haven’t come across a solution that does that yet.

One last hint that may be a clue: in a post from August 2022, a user mentioned adding an underscore “_” to the start of the command to access the options for the command. This doesn’t seem to work for me, and I have a feeling it was specific to scripting using the command.