Surface from Points trouble

Hi all I’m trying to make a terrain/surface from a bunch of pointsterrain definition from contours.gh (21.2 KB) .

However I can’t seem to get it to work for some reason and I’m a bit stuck. I’m basically a beginner in grasshopper so I would appreciate any help I could get.

I’m trying to follow this tutorial but for some reason for me it doesn’t work at the end How to transform Contours into a Rhino Surface - YouTube

You need to internalize your geometry.

1 Like

Sorry I’m not sure I understand…

here is the rhino file if that helps. terrain map.3dm (1.7 MB)

Yeah, of course it helps. What about the ‘Countour’ param? And the error on the SrfGrid is:

1. A point in the grid is null. Fitting operation aborted

P.S. I found the “Countours” layer but still get the same error from SrfGrid. It looks like what you are trying to do is create a surface from the contour curves?

If you adjust the surface size slightly smaller than theDelaunay Meshoutput, then you won’t get the null points from Mesh/Ray.

terrain definition from contours_re.gh (485.7 KB)

2 Likes

Thank you so much, I really appreciate it.

Indeed. The problem is the mesh doesn’t cover the top right corner of the surface in ‘Top View’:

corner

Hi everyone,
I am trying to create a surface basically using the same method. I initially used a regular shape for the bounding box on which I built the surface, but as pointed out at the beginning of this post I received the error null “1. A point in the grid is null. Fitting operation aborted”. So I tried to use an irregular shape so that the mesh could perfectly cover the surface but with no luck. Does anyone has an idea of where the issues is?

Try rebuilding input curves. probably you have kinks in your input curves. I used divide length component here for the same.

I have the same issue as the OP of this thread.
I tried every solution suggested on here, to no avail.

Does anyone have any idea why this isn’t working for me?