Surface created from Project has naked edge

I am new to Rhino 3D & I am trying to design a pair of glasses. I have been following a tutorial on DigitalTutors & near the beginning they suggest that you project the curve to a sphere then trim. I can do this no problem but what I am finding is there are a couple of naked edges which if left cause me problems for the rest of the design; yep I have learned the hard way to check for naked edges from the beginning. The naked edges on my surface always seem to be around the lower part of the bridge which is the original diagram was not a separate curve. I have attached the file for information.

Naked Edge…2.3dm (381.8 KB)

I have run through a number of different tutorials online, including the posts here, but can’t find anything that covers this particular problem. I have tried the following:

• Project/Pull to the Lens then Split, or Trim, the surface pretty much always ends up with the same naked edge.
  • ProjectToCPlan to make sure the curve is planar (hope that is the right term) to make sure it is flat before projecting
  • Redrew original curves (several times) to make sure I hadn’t done anything silly and joined
  • Untrim and then Trim the cut out surgace again, as per one of your posts
  • Untrim the original Sphere surface, Retrim and ShrinkTrimmedSrf just in case there was some dodge point action going on
  • Created a new Sphere template in case there was a problem with the one I had been given that was “cutting” up my surface when trimming. Ok this is probably not even possible but had to given everything I could think of a try. :smirk:
  • To fix the points using Join Edge but it tells me there is no overlapping intervals so doesn’t work.
  • Patch but this just ends up with some really odd shapes but this might just me