Simple Subcategory Question

Rhino to Revit (Loadable Families).gh (11.1 KB)

Hello fellow Grasshoppers,

I am attempting to understand how the subcategories are created using Rhino.Inside.Revit, and I thought I made a nice breakthrough seeing the subcategories are created. However, the subcategories and the geometry are not linked. I am not sure what might be incorrect, especially because I tried to link the geometries independently before sending them to the main Category component.

I am referencing the Organize Rhino Geometry into Revit Subcategories and attempting to apply it to my independent project in the hopes of learning more.

I did notice when I try to unpin my geometry and work with it in Revit, the pin stays in place. Maybe this is a clue?

Thank you for your time and consideration with this. I am quite new to this software, so any advice helps.

I’m missing some of your plugins but everything is working as expected.

If you are unpinning it will break the relationship, so you may be overwriting any changes you’ve made while unpinned.

1 Like

I would also watch the List/Tree structure.

If a list of objects are fed into the Add Family Form component, then it will be one objects with a series of Breps in it. In the example I Grap[hted up the output on the Add SubCatergory output to match the Tree inputs of Breps.

I am also not a big fan of adding multiple wires directly into an input as is Geometry input of the New Family. I think using and intentional merge component or the like is a better practice.

If you can send us the 3dm file in addition to the GH you already sent that would be great. You can just Export Selected the objects you want to get into Revit and send that smaller 3DM file if you want.

1 Like

Scott thank you so much! If simply merging the lists is what I need to do to avoid a lot of data confusion then that it what I will do.