Scripts + interactive command line (REPL) in Rhino how?

Hi,

I’m just learning Rhino and really loving it. I’m a coding kind of person, so am writing Python scripts to do everything I need, with the occasional embedded macro when that seems easier.

The one thing I’m missing is an interactive command line where I could enter any valid python command and have Rhino execute it the way it does python scripts - that’s the fun of interpreted languages after all! Especially when in the middle of a debug, it would be great to execute arbitrary commands in that context, without having to [stop script/click OK/make the change/rerun the whole script] that I have to do now.

I want to execute exactly the code that will go into the script, not a macro - essentially looking for a Matlab-like REPL functionality where I can enter some code or for example select a couple of lines from my script file, say ‘evaluate’ and see the impact of evaluating just those lines immediately.

The best idea of how to get close to that that I could come up with would be automating Rhino from Matlab via the COM interface, so my scripts would actually be Matlab scripts. However that’s not exactly pretty.

Attaching a remote python debugger (from a python editor that supports an interactive command line) to Rhino would not help me here, as that can only step through the code that’s already running, not interpret new code - is that correct?

Really thankful for any suggestions,
Egor

There is a “TestInteractivePython” command in Rhino that was never really completed to a level that we felt was really useful. You’re welcome to play with it though if you want to give a REPL a try in Rhino.

1 Like

Thanks a lot!

From first minute of testing, it seems really fond of interpreting spaces as newlines, even in quoted strings, and also if I paste several lines at once, the first space in the second line gets interpreted as a newline, breaking the code.