Rotate 3D to specific z coord

Hi, I am pretty new to Rhino 3D drawing, so I have what may be a rather simple problem.
I need to relocate a triangle, having its vertices placed at specific Z coordinates (e.g. z=5.1m), but without changing the edges lengths. It doesn’t matter at this point what will happen to XY. I tried Rotate 3D but couldn’t position the vertices at my target Zs precisely. Is there a better way to solve this problem?
Tks,
R.

hi Kalunga, my imagination is currently a little weak to unriddle this without an image or a file… (the flue is hitting me hard). without cracking my head further to pieces maybe you can quickly make one from this situation or throw an abstracted file in.

my first guess would be to use smarttrack if you have dots on the exact coordinates, you can then use Orient3Pt to align it but its just wild guessing for now.

Simply select all, issue command ‘move’. When prompted, enter 0 for where to move from, at where to move to enter 0, 0, Zcoordyouwant.

Hi RichardZ, thanks for your interest. I need to transform the triangle by entering the 3 vertices Z coord alone (z coords are different for each vertice). I don’t have the destination’s XYs, and I need to keep edges lengths. In fact, my goal is to retrieve the XYs once the triangle is relocated to given Zs, for referencing an underwater photogrammetry model. The att print shows the original black triangle and the yellow one was transformed using Rotate 3D, but I can’t get the vertices to precise Zs.

Hi Chris, thanks for you reply. In this case I suspect I would have it changing the edges length, right? But I don’t want it to change the edges lengths after all… Furthermore, the Zs I need to move to are different for each of the 3 vertices.

Hello - Orient3Pt should do this. (Vertex OSnap)

-Pascal