Roll surfaces to a certain diameter (250mm) to keep length/width

Hi all,

I’m looking for plugin or grasshopper algorithm to roll surfaces to a certain diameter (250mm) to keep length/width of original surface?

Thank you.

J

FlowAlongSrf may be useful.

If you post a .3dm file with a surface you want to “roll” then someone may be able to assist. You can upload a file by dragging it to where you type a post, or by clicking on the vertical arrow icon above where you type a post?

How much experience do you have using Rhino? Have you done previous modeling using Rhino?

I have been using Rhino for a couple of months and I know the basic functions.

Attached one is the file that I want to roll.

Thank you

J

need to roll.3dm (101.4 KB)

Use FlowAlongSrf
need to roll DC01.3dm (1.9 MB)

Cylinder with Solid=No to create a cylinder of the desired diameter
SrfSeam if needed to adjust the location of the seam in the cylinder
UnrollSrf with Labels=Yes if desired
FlowAlongSrf using the unrolled surface as the base surface and the cylinder as the target surface.

Experiment if needed

2 Likes

Hello David,

Thanks a lot for your help. The result is exactly what I want to get.

I will experiment on my own as per the direction. :grinning:

Best regards,

J

Hello David,

I experimented on my own but, the result is not same as yours. After FlowAlongSrf, the length and width are different from original one. Am I missing something?

need to roll DC01 with J.3dm (514.7 KB)
Thank you,
J

Hello - use UnrollSrfUV to get the base surface - it does not look like that is what David did, actually but it helps keep the UV distribution the same on base and target surface.

-Pascal

dear @dream21jun
flowing along a cylinder might give you deviations because of the not even distributed paramterization of circles (and therefore cylinders) - … i just see pascal typing so he might give more info…
kind regards -tom