RhinoScript vs. Python?

Hey guys, total noob to scripting here.
I want to start getting my feet wet, and was hoping for some advice on which path to follow - RhinoScript vs. Python.
I understand that Python has use across many applications, but RhinoScript is native to Rhino (obviously).
Can anyone enlighten me as to the best path to choose? Or will I end up learning both?

Thanks guys,

Aaron

(VB) Rhinoscript is not “native” to Rhino, it’s an add-in like many other things. In some aspects, working with the vb version is somewhat more tightly integrated - I think there’s one less layer to go through - but in the end Python + rhinoscriptsyntax has a lot more advantages, including cross-platform capability and access to very powerful lower-level RhinoCommon methods. The rhinoscript methods are very similar between vb and python, they generally accept the same arguments in the same order and return the same results, so if you learn one, you have essentially learned the other as well. The difference will be in the rest of the programming structure around Rhinoscript - for me anyway, it’s no contest - Python wins every time, its far more powerful, flexible and IMO easier to use.

–Mitch

I prefer Python as well, however, I think that Rhinoscript was better supported by McNeel. There are still about 100 Rhinoscript methods that were never implemented as Python methods. Some don’t make sense to implement and others have work-arounds.

I’ll give you one example. We use madCAM, and I have a script that sets tolerances in the file using a few of the RenderMesh methods. This is a script that I can’t do in Python because the RenderMesh methods were never implemented. Yes, I could use command strings using -DocumentProperties, and eventually when I’ve given up hope that the Python implementation will be complete, this is probably what I’ll do, but in the meantime, there doesn’t seem like an issue having Python and RS scripts utilized concurrently.

Dan

1 Like

Hi Aaron,