Rhino Redesign

Hey there! I’m new to this community, so let me introduce myself. My name is Sam, I’m currently a junior in high school, and I love design. Recently, I’ve been really interested in industrial design. I found that Rhino is a popular program for 3D modeling, and it didn’t seem too hard to learn, so I downloaded the beta for Mac. Long story short, I thought it would be fun and interesting to totally redesign the Rhino interface. I have some experience in graphic design and web design, but this is my first attempt at software design.

I introduced a few new features into my design, which are pointed out in the image below.
If you’re confused at all by anything then let me know and I should be able to clarify.

One thing I’d like to clarify is that there would be more modules available than the ones shown, so if you’re wondering how a particular feature would be accessed, that could possibly be accessed through another module which you could add to your workspace. Oh, and the “mini windows” are a type of module that I thought of which allows you to see a mini preview of what’s going on in the other views (front, right, top, perspective). Modules are closable; the bottom-rightmost module is an example of a closed module. Modules are also rearrangeable, and they could even be popped out to be a floating window.

Let me know what you think about the design and what issues you would run into using this version of Rhino. If I am missing anything critical, tell me!

One more thing. This is not functional software, I designed this in Photoshop.

So, without further ado, here’s what I came up with.

Here’s the design without the pointed-out features:

Credit to Martin Spencer-Ford on GrabCAD for the Lamborghini model.

hey Sam… looks like an interesting project you did there :thumbsup:

i guess my main issue is that’s it’s blacked out and it’s probably more of a personal aesthetic choice of yours as opposed to a practical working environment…