Rhino 6 - Is It For Me?

Greetings,

I’m a Kiwi from New Zealand - long time reader of this forum and other articles about Rhino. I have used the trial version of Rhino 5 and 6 for the 90 day period some time ago (thank you McNeel for the generous trial time). I could only get about 1 hour per day and the weekends to use it, but at the time I learned a lot. Pity my memory isn’t what it used to be.

I am a long time CAD user (2D only), but have thought for a long time I’d like to learn to 3D model. I am a hobbyist and will never use Rhino professionally or commercially (pity there isn’t a hobbyist version). I am a Scale Modeller (mostly Sci-Fi) and I have dreamed of being better by adding 3D printing and perhaps DIY CNC to the equation, which will help in the creation process somewhat - hence the 3D modelling requirement.

However, as a pensioner now, I’m not sure this is going to happen in the long term. While time is now more readily available, resources are not - but one can still have dreams I guess!

I have used TurboCad11 Pro for 15 years (never even looking at the 3D side of it), and last year I upgraded to Turbocad 2018 Pro Platinum with the intent of learning to 3D model with it. While TC did the job, I wasn’t truly excited about using it that way - even though I’m fully conversant with the GUI. Rhino has always felt much better for 3D work, so at this point I’m ready to bite the bullet to get it. I’m not an expert at any of this stuff (nor computers either), so it is a major learning curve.

Guess I really need some hand-holding to make sure its right for my needs - especially as it’s a big chunk out of my modelling budget (the $NZ isn’t so good at the moment)