Real world, practical use cases of Python for architectural design for beginners

Hello everyone,
what do you use python for in your daily workflows? I am looking for examples to give to my students at the TU Darmstadt.

I am teaching a course on the basics of computational design that aims to cover the core concepts behind this broad field such as combinatorial design, generative design and computational analysis. Here is the intro video to the course (What is Computational Design? And 9 Concepts Related to It - YouTube).

The upcoming tutorial is about python scripting.

I plan to give a basic intro to the language but also want to illustrate the tutorial with a simple use case. I would like to avoid the most popular agents simulation example (flocking) as in my experience it had little practical relevance.

I have two questions to the community here:

1. What do you use python in for?
  2. what would be for you the core python example for a complete beginner that is still linked to the design practice and not too computer-sciency :slight_smile:

My idea is to point my students to this very post so I hope for an interesting discussion and a diverse set of example use cases.

1 Like

My use for Python (directly in Rhino, not GH) is not as a design/generative tool, but rather as a way to streamline repetitive and complex/time consuming tasks and use them via aliases/toolbar buttons to work practically like Rhino native tools.

Cases in point might be scripts for interactive correction of contour curves for topo maps, trimming massive amounts of curves inside or outside of a closed boundary, projecting simple but copious numbers of building volumes to seat themselves on/in a terrain mesh/surface map, etc.

5 Likes

Hi @antonsavov,

I use Python mostly do automate repetitive tasks, for which Rhino does not supply a good native answer.
Examples for this would be:

• Mass file import / export
  • Mass text / annotation manipulation