Raster to Vector Conversion Plug In

Trace is a plugin that outputs a bitmap to vector within Rhino. Vectorize | Food4Rhino
This plugin is currently only available for Rhino 6. This plugin does not work in the newest Beta for Rhino 7.

I had worked with the developer in the past on improvements, but sadly the developer has passed in the last year. I do not have the source code for the plugin and I am not a programmer.

I was wondering if someone in the rhino community would be willing to develop a plugin that does raster to vector conversions based on the open-source Potrace with CsProtrace code? I know there are some solutions out there like RhinoNest that has that vector conversion built into it, but that program is overkill for the simple needs of just conversion.

This has become such viable tool for us and many others, I would hate to see it disappear with the forthcoming Rhino 7. Would anyone be willing develop such a plugin that works with both PC and Mac Rhino?

Have you tried running the MigratePlugins command available in the latest Rhino 7 Beta to try and run this plug-in in V7?

I do not see that Command available to me.
MigratePlugins command comes up “unknown”

How shall I access that command?
I am using a Mac if that matters.

Version 7 BETA (7.0.20273.15004, 2020-09-29)
Expires November 13, 2020

Ah I didn’t realize you were on Mac. The command doesn’t exist on that platform because it doesn’t need to exist (or at least it shouldn’t need to exist).

When I run the “Trace” command to call on the plugin, this is what I am getting.

Is it just possible that the plugin is just coded to do a version check before loading?
If this is the case, that is unfortunate due to the circumstances.

Im sure the plugin would have ran just fine without that bit of code.

That message is coming from the plug-in itself so it is checking the version of Rhino and deciding not to run. Not much we can do if the project is closed source and the developer passed away.