Python Script

Hi!
I am a newbie and therefore still relatively inexperienced in terms of scripting and the possibilities.
I would like to pull up walls in 3D and connect them to a box, then copy it several times in all directions. So to say a big box from several small ones. Then I would have to be able to delete certain walls automatically, so that a kind of structure is created.

Kinda like this

Is this possible? Can anyone help me?

Hi,

The Wasp add-on for Grasshopper might be the right way to accomplish this. You can find plenty of tutorials on YouTube on how to use it.

Unfortunately I have to script it with Python.
The example was written by Grasshopper and I was hoping there would be a way to script such things in Python too.

OK, you sure can. Do you have the example file? If so, can you upload it (or post a link)?

Luckily I have.
The file contains more than I actually need. For me the structure would be enough with just the walls.

SuperPart 02.gh (314.0 KB)

And here SuperPart 02.zip (2.0 MB)

Haha, so the reference project was done in Wasp. Fun fact: Wasp is actually written in Python. :slight_smile:

What box? Do walls and floor slabs “grow” until they reach a pre-placed box, or how should this work?
Can you maybe upload a diagram or sketch of a simplified scenario?

So everything should be contained in a larger box, a bounding box so to speak?

Unfortunately, there is no such thing as “automatically” in scripting! You can either delete walls randomly - which would mean that you’d have very little control -, or you have to come up with a rule set, which might be the better approach.

Haha really? As I said, I am a complete Newbie :sweat_smile:
I must have expressed myself a little unhappily. I would like to transfer this file into a Python script, only consisting of the walls, without columns and stairs.

Rules? I already thought of something like that, but I don’t know how to implement it, which code would be necessary and so on.