Python Plugin with Rhino Script Compiler

Dear Community,

hello everyone, im very new to python programming and have my first issue :slight_smile:
i made a plugin with python (works well in the rhino python editor and works well when i copy the py file in the python plugins folder). now i wanted to generate a plugin to distribute. i took the process through the rhino script compiler, everything works well, afterwards its installing the plugin, but when i start rhino, enter the plugin-command (the plugin name appears, i can click it) but after, nothing is happening.
Maybe you have an idea what it could be or maybe i totally forgot something?

thanks a lot for your help. :innocent:
best
michael

@MichaelW,

check first under RhinoOptions / Plugins if your Plugin is properly listed and Loaded. Are all commands listed if you double click the plugin name in the plugin manager ? Did you compile rhp or as rhi file ?

c.

Yes the plugin is properly installed and loaded in the rhino options. All commands are listed. Its compiled as rhi file. Thanks for your help.
Michael

@MichaelW,

can you describe what your script / plugin is supposed to do or post it here so someone can try to compile and reproduce your error ?

c.

the plugin should download texture from an free web texture database (by inserting the url from the chosen texture) and apply it on a surface in rhino. attached you find the rhi file and the raw python file

steps in rhino after installation:
01: commandname: mtextur
02: choose surface
03: insert url from mtextur
04: choose filename of texture which is being saved on C:\mtextur

example url: https://www.mtextur.com/system/materials/images/000/020/512/medium/mtex_20512.jpg?1458434116

thanks a lot

mtextur.zip (11.3 KB)

@MichaelW,

i´ve tested the script and it failed to find rs.GetString.

These imports in your script i do not understand. They will not work / are not required:

import rhinoscript.userinterface
import rhinoscript.geometry