Problem with unrolling surfaces

Hi All, I am very new to rhino and I am using it to create and design covers in the marine industry, Paired with measurements taken from a 3d measuring device. To achieve the results I am looking for I have only had to learn the very basics in rhino, the main being the loft function and unrolling surfaces into 2d so they can be cut by a laser cutter, I have uploaded some pictures below showing some of the work and success I have had so far, however, I am still having problems when unrolling surfaced to 2d, sometimes they come out deformed, and sometimes they won’t unroll at all. If anyone could give me any advice I would really appreciate it

Right Side Panel.3dm (27.4 KB)

Hi Kallum - hard to say without the surface. Without knowing anything at all about how fabric behaves or how allowances should be made, I made an approximation, does this look viable?

Right Side PanelTest.3dm (74.3 KB)

-Pascal

Hi there, Thanks for your response, Fabric is very forgiving when it comes to allowances, we work to a 10mm tolerance, I have uploaded a picture, everything highlighted in red is perfect, however, it needs to follow that line in blue, I don’t know the ins and outs of the loft function but I am guessing its something to do with it being an odd shape ?

Hi Kallum - use that curve to Trim the surface.

@Kallum_Duffy The main point being that I extended the edge lines to meet across that cut off corner and made my

surface from those, then pulled the complex corner trim to the surface and unrolled it with the surface - could use it to trim before unrolling as well.

-Pascal