Paste an image onto a surface

I’m a mathematician new to Grasshopper who is trying to use the ImageSampler to paste an image onto a parametric surface. In my file uploaded here, the surface is a sphere, but that’s just for practice. I need to be able to create a surface from parametrically defined points and then get the colors from an image to go with the vertices on the mesh of the surface.

I have matched the grid of my parameter input to the grid of a rectangle on which I can paste the image without a problem. My formulas create the spherical surface correctly. But when I de-mesh the SrfGrid it has a different number of vertices from what the original grid had.

In the example file, 40401 points go in, but only 39800 vertices are present when I demesh. Seems weird.

Can someone suggest a better way to do this? Thanks in advance for any help.

Best wishes,
Frank

SphereTry.gh (130.1 KB)

Hello
Do you mean texturing or uv mapping of the mesh?
i see your file to get dimensions of the image you can use python

aw

image file.gh (5.4 KB)

1 Like

It’s not a problem getting the dimensions of the image. I can get those easily. The problem is that the mesh constructed from points seems to have the wrong number of vertices.

I tried a Delauney mesh and got better results, attached. Yes, this is uv texture mapping, but I don’t find canned tools for that. An expert told me to do it this way, demeshing a surface and using colors from the image sampler to add colors.

The problem with the Delauney mesh, or perhaps the problem in general, is that it takes quite a long time to update the dimensions. With u and v equal to 200, the image quality is very poor. With 1500, it’s better but still not what I want.

Thanks,
Frank

The Human plugin by @andheum has some tools for texture mapping, so you can avoid having a very dense mesh to get the image resolution.

2 Likes