Nurbs surface is reconstructed based on arbitrary scatter

Hi,I’m a freshman ,but I am trying to get a Nurbs surface from arbitrary points which was collected by coordinate measuring machine .Therefore I’m here seek somebody help .

How much have you done with Rhino? Is your question about an assignment from a class? If so what is the subject of the class?

How many points are collected? Can you post a .3dm file or image of an example set of points? To post a file either drag it where you type a post, or click on the vertical arrow above where your type a post.

If there is a large number of point then the Patch command can be a useful tool for creating a NURBS surface. If there is a small number of points then other methods may be better than Patch.

You selected the openNURBS sub-forum. OpenNURBS is for transferring geometry between software. I have reassigned you post to the general Rhino sub-forum.

Of course you can’t just make NURBS from ‘arbitrary’ points. Trying to do so is one of the most tiresome tedious jobs you can do in all of CAD-dom and as such not really recommended unless you are a Rhino ninja.

I’m glad to recive your reply , I don’t know much about Rhino . I want to setup a software based on OpenNURBS lib. What I have said not very specific ,I’m so sorry for that . Here is picture ,is based on Qt to show these points ,the number about thirty thousand points.

I’m glad to recive your reply , it not be an ‘arbitrary’ points , It has a certain trajectory, just like my picture above. Oh I know this is a tedious job ,but this is my teacher command. :worried:

OpenNURBS is not intended for nor sufficient for writing software which creates geometry. https://www.rhino3d.com/new-source/en/features/developer/opennurbs/

The openNURBS Initiative provides CAD, CAM, CAE, and computer graphics software developers the tools to accurately transfer 3D geometry between applications.