Modelling a ring from a earring piece

GP.3dm (19.1 MB) Hi rhino forum,

So first of all i don’t want this thread to sound like “do this for me because i can’t do it” or “do this for me because i say so”. I really need help in doing this and i think i tried all the commands i know to do it.
Basically i need to model a ring out of this earring piece that i modelled and i just don’t know how to approach this because i always get problems while modelling it. The prongs don’t touch the stone housing thus not being solid, the stone housing morphs, parts that don’t touch etc…
The ring should look something like this:

I think, again, that i’m missing something in the workflow, maybe because i’m not a professional and learned all by myself or maybe there is some secret command that i don’t know of.
I would be greatly apprecciated if someone could show me how to do it or just give me some tips.
Sorry if this post sounds like i’m asking too much but i just can’t do this by myself.
Even though i’ve been using rhino since 2018 sometimes i get this projects where i just can’t come up with a valid modelling approach and get stuck on it for weeks.
Again sorry, sorry, sorry

Simone

Ahhh, Simone, Simone, Simone. Everyone here, from beginners to the most expert, has had situations like yours. There’s no need for a lot of apologetic groveling, and it’s very unbecoming. :grin: It just makes additional reading for your potential helpers, who would like just the essential information that defines your concern.

You have touched on some of these:
Your experience level and that you, like many of us, are self-taught.
A statement of your goal and what kind of help you could use.
The sketch and .3dm

Additional useful info might be which Rhino version and whether Windows or Mac as this might have some influence on the commands available for you to use.

I don’t design jewelry so don’t think I can offer any useful advice about your concern, but I know there are many readers here who can.

Hi