Merge trimmed curved srf with untrimmed curved one

Hi All , I am just a beginner with rhino , I have made those two srf one trimmed the other and I want to merge them as one srf for pannelling … I tried mergesrf but it said edges are too far … tried matching them but doesn’t work … any help please ?
mergesrf.3dm (211.5 KB)

Merge Srf doesn’t work unless both surfaces are untrimmed.

Your surfaces have good zebras, not perfect, but good. They also have curves on their borders with a lot of spans, and without a good transition at that seam. They also have very different control point densities on either side of the seam.

If you’re using this for paneling anyway, maybe it’d be OK to slightly alter the quality of the surface?

Someone with better surfacing skills than me might have a better suggestion, but what I’d do as a workaround is to redo the whole thing using Network Surface, and maybe even use the rebuild surface command to soften the redone version.

Step by step:

1. use Duplicate Edge to copy the seam.
  2. use Divide to split the seam into 5 equal segments, marked by points.
  3. use Extract Isocurve (you may need to toggle) to extract some lengthwise curves on both surfaces. when you create them, snap them to the points you made on the seam.
  4. join the the extracted isocurves.
  5. use near snap to put points on the joined isocurves on either side of the seam, nearby, maybe 12 units from the seam on either side.
  6. use the split command with those points and the joined curves to cut the middles out of the curves, then delete the middles.
  7. use Blend Curve to blend the curves you just deleted the middles of back together (this is for a smoother transition.
  8. use duplicate border on your polysurface. delete your polysurface or hide it.
  9. explode the duplicated border. lock the tiny end curve and the top end curve. select all, join. unlock.