Learning C# or Python for Grasshopper?

Hello all, hope you are well.

I am a Grasshopper user for almost 3 years now and I want to start learning either C# or Python for Grasshopper3D and have a few questions regarding the same.

1. Which coding language is better to learn C# or Python? I have got a mixed reaction from people, in the sense that Python is easier is to learn, where as C# is more future proof and is used by other software’s as well. I will be mostly using coding for Architectural Design, Generative Art, Parametric Explorations and making work flow faster.
  2. Since I am a beginner, from where do I learn either of these coding languages? Or what could be the best place to start learning, any tutorials, books or videos?
  3. This might be irrelevant, but how much does it take to learn any of the languages. I am asking this because I learnt basics of RhinoPython and now I remember nothing.

Any guidance will be really helpful.

Thank you.

1 Like

Python is easier to learn but C# is better for Grasshopper

There’s a lot of topics on this subject already. Try doing a search (on the old forum as well).

Anywho, here’s a recent post that might help clarify a few things:

5 Likes

If you are in the AEC (notably BIM) field … C# by a huge margin.

books (with computer off).

In years: 1 (know how to do some stuff) to 10 (know what not to do).

Eat carrots.

6 Likes

:point_up_2:

As for your points:

1- your “Which coding language is better to…” question is already the perfect bait for forum wars XD.
So, imho c#. Imho python is unreadable while c# is clean, but searching in the web people say the exact opposite!
C# is generally faster than python and also grasshopper is written with it, so you can access grasshopper and its structure/methods more smoothly with c#. Also if you want to convert your c# scripts into plugins, the step is probably simpler than coming from py.