Layout in Rhino for Mac

I’m new to using layout in the Wip of Rhino for Mac, are there any tutorials for the mac version out there ?

when I use the layout command, a new window pops up, but where is the toolbar ? I can click in the tools on the open model in the background, but that just minimises my layout window each time ? is there something i need to do in settings ??
screenshot attached

Hi
Had the same problem as above. Another question is if I change something in the layer configuration (ie turn on/off layer) it affects all the layouts. I thought the layer configuration could be unique for each layer/detail view.

1 Like

yes i’ve had a few problems in the wip layout, it crashed 3 times on me in 30 minutes yesterday too, ??

be great to hear if anyone has any input on layout in rhino for mac, a tutorial maybe ?

Until we get a toolbar added to the Layout window, I’ve been using floating toolbars.
I usually have Drafting and Curve Drawing open so I can draw a border, title block, and annotate detail labels.

1 Like

@John_Brock thanks for the tip John, does it freeze and crash on you from time to time ?

I’ve not had any crashing problems myself. I have had a couple of temporary “freezes” when I started the Mac, quickly went into Rhino while OSX was doing other things in the background), and started modeling. Once OSX was finished with whatever it was doing, then no issues at all for me.

Hi John
As written above one thought about layouts is the changes in the layer panel. Is is not possible to have different layers visible in the different layouts or details views. Is a change in the layers panel always affecting all layouts and details views?
Thanks in advance for a answer.

Like in Windows Rhino, you can control what shows in a detail at an object level or Layer level.
For Layers, use the “Layout and detail layer information” panel. Make a Detail active and turn the layers on an off.
For Objects, use HideInDetail and ShowInDetail