Karamba3D Assemble model

Hi, I am new to Rhino and I am trying to create a model that can optimize the cross section of a steel design. I am stuck on the assemble model because when i plug in my support and my elements the an error message “1. Solution exception:Could not find node at (0/0/0) where support index 0 is attached.” . If I flatten my elements the mesh load that I applied to to my “roof” is incorrect.

Here my script:
Model reduit.gh (38.5 KB)

Can someone please help me?

Thank you!

Hi, you need to flatten the Element inputs

best,
Matthew

Hi Matthew,

Thanks for the response. For the same model, I’m trying to optimize the cross section of different groups of elements (beams, columns, joist) when I change my loads. I need my beams to be selected in a list with certain sections W and my columns to be selected amongst another list of HSS. I put 2 OptiCroSec in my model and I connected beams in the element IDS in one and the other the columns. However when i change my loads it looks like it creates a copy of the elements instead of changing the cross section.

Here’s my script:
Model reduit sans double.gh (78.9 KB)

Hi,

you need to perform the optimisation in one component. If you have separate optimisation, it is not performing it in the same model.

Karamba3D will automatically optimise those cross sections within the same familty - for example W and HSS

Model reduit sans double-mt.gh (72.2 KB)

Hi, I have now upgraded my model so I can change the parameters to increases the numbers of bays. This is the result when I illustrate the My in BeamView:

I put supports on the top of my model where you see the points in orange with restraint in Tz. I have alose an error message : 1. There are 34 rigid body modes in the system. This means some parts can move freely without causing deformation.
Try to use the ‘Eigen Modes’-component and activate the display of local coordinate axes: The first eigen-mode will be the rigid body motion.