Irregular Scissor Structure

Hello everybody!

I am rather new to grasshopper, and I am having troubles creating an irregular scissor structure.

I am looking to creating something that is as irregular as in this example I have found: Rhino Grasshopper - Kinematic Pavillon - Grasshopper

With the help of this forum, I have managed to create an arched one but I do not really know where to go from here to create an irregular shape that I can manipulate as I want.

I would very much appreciate if someone could help me.

Thank you in advance!

Ioana

Irregular Scissor Mechanism.3dm (34.7 KB)
Irregular Scissor Mechanism.gh (22.8 KB)

Hereā€™s an example constructing a pantographic linkage for any polyline
pantographic.gh (16.6 KB)

scissor

9 Likes

missing

I replaced the two missing offset components with standard GH Offset Curve but have no way to know if it gives the same result?

You didnā€™t set ā€˜Degreesā€™ on the Rotate ā€˜Aā€™ (Angle) input, though thatā€™s relatively insignificant?

You could have internalized your ā€˜Referenced Polyline Curveā€™ instead of requiring the Rhino file.

The model just doesnā€™t work for me, which makes it harder to understand.

Iā€™ve played with scissor linkages a couple of times on the old forum:

1 Like

WOW! Brilliant, and without Kangaroo. Very clever!!

1 Like

The lecture slides from this course can be quite useful as an intro to this topic.
The principle of these ā€˜angulatedā€™ scissor structures is shown in the week ā€˜Mechanism Basicsā€™
https://courses.csail.mit.edu/6.S080/lectures/

6 Likes

That is brilliant. Thank you so much!

I have played with the script and made it irregular like in the example I showed previously.

Any idea how I could replicate that on to the circle?

pantographic_irregular.gh (18.6 KB)

Thank you so much for your suggestions.

The offset was redundant, not sure why it was not recognised though.
Hopefully you will be able to access the file now.