Importing .obj from filename in Grasshopper (not with Python)

I need to load a .obj file into my grasshopper tool from a filename, and had been using localcode to manage this for me in Rhino 5, but it now fails in Rhino 6, in the same way that this unanswered post describes - the plugin reports “No layer by that name could be found”. Unfortunately, this localcode plugin has not been updated in a long time and I don’t expect that will change.

Because I later call this grasshopper tool from Python, I’m unable to use python scripts inside the tool, so the various examples of importing .obj files with Python scripts in grasshopper aren’t helpful for me. I haven’t been able to find any other non-python plugins, and the attempts I’ve made to script something in C# haven’t gotten very far as I’m not experienced and haven’t found a clear example on importing objects.

Any recommendations / examples / workarounds for importing .objs within grasshopper?

Unfortunately, I can’t share my tool with you here, but I’ve made an example file to demonstrate the issue (it’s attached with a copy of the localcode plugin and a test obj file)

importOBJ.7z (80.9 KB)

Can you explain in more detail, why exactly you are calling the gh script from python?
What problem are you trying to solve by doing this?

Hi Lando,

Thanks for the question!

I have a library of ~600 3D scans of various similar objects that are all .obj files, and the grasshopper tool I’ve created identifies landmarks on any given scan, and outputs measurements (circumference, distance, angles, etc). The objects are complicated, and file sizes are about 3mb per scan, so I didn’t want to tackle all 600 within grasshopper - hence the python step.