Import Airfoil Script--Rhino for Mac

Hi everyone,

Glad to be starting out taking part in the rollout of Rhino for Mac. I’ve recently purchased the commerical build (5.1) and am happy with how things work for regular modeling and my past usage as a Windows operator.

The biggest missing feature for what I’d like to do in Rhino is to import airfoil sections. I used to rely heavily on this rhinoscript and database:

Importing Airfoils into Rhino for Windows

Where to start? I see that Python is being put forward and McNeel is hoping to get folks making cross-platform suppported scripts and plugins functioning.

I am not a programmer, though looking at the old Rhino script, it seems like it ran a fairly simple set of functions to loft curves through the imported points and then close that into a single curve. It worked well enough for my hobby-use of RC plane design up to giant scale model wings.

Can someone please give me specific directions on how I may begin the process of getting this script ported over to Rhino for Mac? Sadly, I do need a bit of hand-holding here as I have not programmed since the late 1980s.

Thank you so much for your help,
Carl

Hi Carl,

Glancing over the script, it’s indeed not complex at all. I myself have no spare time at hand to help you out, but I reply to maybe provide an incentive for others to give it a go and help you out:

The python script functionality and workflow outline:

1: browse for file .dat file (provided in zip package)
2: read the file with: name in the first line and next lines ascii XY coordinates to be converted to 3D points
3: Create and add to the document an interpolated curve through these 3D points

HTH
-Willem

Yeah, I would have looked at it today, but I have a mill job to get out, if nobody has responded I can look tomorrow…