How to use image sampler to get this effect?

Just like this picture. I am a beginner using GH and very interested in image things. I learn some image method from the discussion in this forum (thanks a lot!)but I can’t find any clue to make this effect. Is it about Fibonacci series? The difference from manalisa image is the dot size at outer ring are getting larger and the pattern is base on spiral. Who can make the script?Thank you!

The first is more a circle packing (there are also lot of example) and the last is just concentric circle.

Come on you can surely do the last :yum:
if there is n concentric circles, separated by a distance dx, what is the number of circular dot on each circle. Knowing that image sampler default output is within a square with a corner at (0,0) and the other at (1,1). Where is the center on the image ? What is the radius of the greater circle ? Basic math ?
I used mesh instead of dot. I have always big problem with dots display !!!

4 Likes

Thank you laurent! It really helps. I make it follow your steps. Pls see the picture below. Actually I made this effect by using AI plugin before :sweat_smile:, The advantage of GH is the dots in this image got central points of each circle. And AI filter just got outer curve.
However I am still confused of how to change the outer ring circle to make it bigger gradually than center like the pic below?

use force fields

There are many ways, here a less simple using Kangaroo I used a custom mesh to make a radialm gradient then circle packing of Kangaroo then Image sampler.

[ImageBasedCirclePack Daniel PikerK2.gh|attachment]ImageBasedCirclePack Daniel PikerK2.gh (182.1 KB)

4 Likes

With a reverse image search (often helpful if you are trying to find how an image was made) I saw this page where there’s a post by the original creator of that image:

they say: