How to fillet selected edges from thousands of an extruded geometry

I have this extruded part with several thousand edges. How do I add a working radius to just the outer edges? I tried displaying points on the edge curve but each point is a different number.

Also attaching the Grasshopper file.

Thanks in advancegrille.gh|attachment (15.8 KB)
grille.gh (15.8 KB)

bro has the audacity to fillet in grasshopper :skull:

I suggest:
1 identify features of these selected edges
2 use gh code to get index of these edges, by filtering all edges using feature found in 1
3 it’s filleting time!

1 Like

Sorry Im very new to this.

How can I go about identifying features of the edges?

Internalize geometry in your grasshopper file and re-upload it.

-Kevin

1 Like

@kev.r
Grille_V2.gh (22.7 KB)

If you mean the 2 longest edges along the outside of the brep, this should work.

Grille_V2_re.gh (30.3 KB)

-Kevin

Thanks a lot Kevin, but I am actually looking to fillet all of the edges that make the grille.
never knew its so hard to make fillets in GH :cold_sweat:

1 Like

Identifying the points of the inner edges is simple.

Unfortunately the filleting operation fails here with radius 0.005 in Grasshopper and also in Rhino.

It might work if you also add the edges in X direction but doing this in two steps makes filtering of the edges more complicated.

Here I just filleted the edges in X direction.

And here both the X direction edges and the edges on the holes in the initial surface are filleted with 0.005 mm radius:

I internalised the result and disabled the fillet edge components. It takes a while for them to compute.

Grille_V2.gh (12.9 MB)

5 Likes

oh wow! cant thank you enough @martinsiegrist !

1 Like

k, now make Rhino buttons so we don’t have to do this in GH :smile:

I’ve come again asking for help!