How to export complicated model to Solidworks?

Hey,

I’m pretty new with this, but I’ve searched a lot to find a way to export Rhino 3dm file to Solidworks one, and I couldn’t find a solution. Is there a way to export the attached file in something I can use in Solidworks? Export as only a shape will do the job too.

P.S. the model is above 10MB so a Google Drive link for download - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3p2yenzVS5eRlg5VXFEMUVVX3M/view?usp=sharing

Hi Miroslav- if it is not a mesh object, export as STEP/STP from Rhino (214 flavor might be best but it will work with both).

-Pascal

Unfortunately It seems to be a mesh object… The model is not mine obviously and I wanted to implement it in Solidworks, somehow…

you are hosed then…solidworks has awful mesh integration/ no mesh tools. Best bet is to import it as reference objects and rebuild it from scratch in SW-

Is there a reason you need it in solidworks? What are you trying to do? there are a ton of poly modelers out there that can do just about anything you need from texturing to tooling right off the mesh.

If you don’t have to get to nurbs, then don’t-

Well, I want to build a tube frame for this formula car. It is gonna be a real build, no just a 3D model. To import it as a reference object would do the job, but how to import it ? And yes, there are lots of models, but those I found as the best for the case, and probably the best looking for such a car.

Rhino has an excelent pipe command. Your could build your tube frame in Rhino and export that to SW…

Is there a welding tool in Rhino ?

Can you build a line/curve skeleton of the framing in rhino and import that into SW as a 3D sketch for your weldment?

In what format the tube skeleton should be saved in Rhino in order to import it in SW and make the welding?

Try exporting the Rhino tube centerlines as .igs for import to SW.

If you export tube solids from Rhino to SW try .stp.