How to create a parametric brick wall with bulges

Hi all, I’m relatively new to grasshopper, just wondering if there are any ways to create something similars in the images - 2 different size brick wall on undulating surfaces defines by bulges / hot spots? Thank you

It’s absolutely possible with Grasshopper. I think this will be a good starting point: Grasshopper Tutorial | Parametric Brick Wall - YouTube

It’s I think simple enough to work out the basics, and then here we can help with the details or more tricky parts, but it always is much easier and quicker to help if you already have something in Grasshopper :wink:

Here is a more or less quick and dirty solution with only basic components. I highly recommend that you try to comprehend what’s happening in the workflow. To build such a wall you need to understand the concept of tree structures (which might cause you some headache) and others.

brick-wall.gh (24.7 KB)

Hello both,
That wall looks great! Thank you for the pointers - will take a look at how the components work together to start with. Will let you know how I get on. Thanks so much for the head start!

Bricks have been done so many times in GH, try search:

https://discourse.mcneel.com/search?expanded=true&q=bricks%20%40Joseph_Oster

Seven years ago:

Eight years ago:

1 Like