How to create a domed, grid shell structure in Kangaroo?

Hello! I’m currently trying to create a domed structure with openings that is meant to emulate the grid-shell structure of the Mannheim Multihalle with the Kangaroo plugin in Grasshopper. I’ve somewhat started but I can’t seem to get the mesh to be forced upward. I’m fairly new to both Kangaroo and Grasshopper so any tips would be well appreciated!

MannheimMultihalle.gh (16.8 KB)

Well:

1. First do some FLAT BrepFace and using things the likes of MeshMachine (or better some code) triangulate the Face. Avoid quads (real-lfe planarity, leaks over time, cost … etc etc [quads are NOT what amateurs think/believe/hope/wish]).
  2. Then mastermind some Anchor policy (in fact various - see below: 6 used for this demo) related with the naked and/or clothed Vertices.
  3. Then separate the naked Edges from the clothed ones and apply different spring forces (as we do in real-life for any tensile membrane).
  4. A unary Force (gravity) could add to the pleasure.
  5. Finally (skip that for the moment) you can do some real-life thing out of the relaxed Mesh (like the trusses shown below).

Here’s some examples:

And some W type (hex [pink members] outwards for clarity - don’t do that in real-life) truss:

Or :

1 Like

Peter, have you seen the Mannheim Multihalle? Or any (most) elastic gridshell(s)?

1 Like

With regard classic envelope “panels” (opaque/glass + alu frames OR planar glazing or whatever [non EFTE] ) … the big thing is how all that stuff behave over time (and what exactly planarity means on site): i.e. how the structural silicone can deal with thermal expansions and the likes. But the good news are that these days “over time” means pretty much nothing.

Kinda buying a 911 GT3 : good in theory, crap in reality (reliability sucks plus if you switch off electronics you can’t drive the thing at all).

1 Like