How do I make a funnel roof structure using grasshopper

hi I’m new to grasshopper and have recently done a course on the basics however I’m struggling to produce this type of structure

I’m aware I can create the funnel shape in rhino however I want to produce the most efficient structure possible therefore I believe if I use grasshopper to design it parametrically this will give me the most optimum solution eg for column placement, roof height etc. I think this can be done using kangaroo?

any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

https://thinkparametric.com/courses/learn-how-to-create-an-organic-roof-structure-centre-pompidou-metz

2 Likes

In an ideal word (I would strongly suggest to start that kind of stuff with classic quad meshes and an ortho topology (grid like) … later on you can exploit other topologies):

1. Define a grid and on the fly - interactively - define the flat modules (so to speak) and the modules that yield cones - that compose the “columns” (This is the core of the matter … but … you can’t do it without code).
  2. Define a mesh in the flat modules, the cones and the connecting rings (see images below) in such a way that K2 could start with an input Mesh as uniform as possible (you can do that with native components but is a bit tricky). In your pic above the “columns” are a pit pathetic (lack density in the conic part).
  3. Then relax the mesh via K2 using some anchor policy (that’s a big thing). Have in mind that if the input is bananas (see 2) expect a bananas output as well: K2 can’t fix a bad mesh. Depending on the spring values (and maybe some unary force [gravity]) you can obtain various results: good, bad, ugly etc etc. On a higher level of relaxation control the columns may have different spring values than the flat parts and/or different unary forces.