Hardware and software limitations of grasshopper/kangaroo

Hello,
I’m learning how to “inflate” meshes with kangaroo physics but am running into crashing/ freezing issues. I would like to know if there are possible hardware or RAM limitations that could be effecting this. I would like to be able to work with higher res meshes if possible so that I can CNC mill the results without noticeable facets in the surface. I would appreciate any advice on this.
thanks
Michael

020619 inflate test.3dm (3.2 MB)
inflate.gh (14.7 KB)

Is there a reason you’re not using Kangaroo 2?

Just that the tutorials that i found to get me to this point were all for kangaroo 1. I’m really new at this.

Does kangaroo 2 use resources better?

K2 is far better and has the same type of example files + more.

Kangaroo 2 should use your computing resources better - it is multi-threaded, and uses a different technique for the solver, allowing it to converge in fewer iterations.
Here’s the equivalent setup for your file:
catenary_subdivide.gh (12.6 KB)

Also, I think the best way forward is not to use higher res meshes for the simulation, but to subdivide using Weaverbird after Kangaroo - this way you can get a very fine and smooth mesh without excessive simulation time.

4 Likes

Thanks Michael, Where would I find the example files?

1 Like

Thank you very much Daniel,

Unfortunately I cant seem to get your setup to work. I have kangaroo2 and weaverbird installed but the result stays flat. I’m guessing the node for vertex loads is the analog for K1 gravity? do I need a strength value attached? also what is the “show” node doing?